PP International

About the PPI

Posted On: Wed, 2009-12-30 01:21 by Jolly anonymous Roger

Pirate Parties International (PPI) is a not for profit international non governmental organisation with its headquarters in Brussels, Belgium. Formed in 2010 it serves as a worldwide organisation for Pirate Parties, currently representing members from 41 countries. The Pirate Parties are political incarnations of the freedom of expression movement, trying to achieve their goals by the means of the established political system rather than through activism.

The PPI advocate on the international level for the promotion of the goals its members share such as protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the digital age, consumer and authors rights-oriented reform of copyright and related rights, support for information privacy, transparency and free access to information.

The name "Pirates" itself is a reappropriation of the title that was given to Internet users by the representatives of the music and film industries, and do not refer to any illegal activity.



The ordinary members of the PPI are the Pirate Parties from:

 Bosnia and Herzegovina
 Czech Republic
 New Zealand
 Republic of Korea
 Spain :: Catalonia


The observer members of the PPI are:

Pirate Party of Florida
Pirate Party of Bavaria
Pirate Party of Catalonia
Pirate Party of Hesse
Pirates without Borders
Pirate Party of Lower Saxony
Young Pirates of Germany
Best Party Iceland (Besti Flokkurinn)
Pirate Party of La Rioja (Spain)
Young Pirates Sweden (Ung Pirat)
Pirate Party of Tyrol (Austria)


The PPI is managed by the board, which meets regularly to discuss the internal running of the organization and interacts with individual Pirate Parties and other organizations. The PPI operates a mailing list, which can be joined or publicly viewed here.

The board can be contacted by e-mail (board (at) pp-international.net).

  • Chairman Andrew Reitemeyer (PP-NZ)
  • Vice Chairman Patrick Schiffer (PP-DE)
  • Treasurer Karla Medrano (PP-MX)
  • Chief Administration Officer Henrique Peer (PP-BR)
  • Board member Min Chiaki (PP-JP)
  • Board member Chemseddine Ben Jemaa (PP-TN)
  • Board member Dr. Richard Hill (PP-CH)
  • Alternate Board member Anders Kleppe (PP-NO)
  • Alternate Board member Nikolay Voronov (PP-RU)
  • Alternate Board member Koen De Voegt (PP-BE)
  • Alternate Board member Gregory Engels (PP-DE)

More information on the team and the minutes of the board meetings can be found in wiki.


The Statutes of Pirate Parties International can be viewed here


The Pirate Parties International have issued political resolutions, that can be viewed in our wiki

( categories: )